Share my work: How to setup SingleDrop mailbox with Getmail 4

Ask questions about your setup or get help installing ZCS server (ZD section below).
philpw99

Share my work: How to setup SingleDrop mailbox with Getmail 4

Post by philpw99 »

Hi, everybody, I am very new to linux and zimbra, but I was so impressed on the free spirit of the community, like this whole full feature AJAX webmail suite is for free. It's hard to believe until I see it. That's why I finally decided to share my work with you guys, because you guys help me a lot during the learning process.

I have been working on it for 3 weeks now. Many obstacles were overcome. Thanks to tutorials and guides online. Then I met the final challenge: singledrop mailbox.

I don't want to pay much, so I set up only the cheapest option in 1and1.com. For $3 a year, I got a domain name: digitalwonders.us and a 2gb email box. I created the email as *@digitalwonders.us . It's a catch-all email, means it will receive all emails with the domain name "digitalwonders.us"

The service of 1and1 doesn't provide any "envelope to" feature. So if I need to send a mail to philip@digitalwonders.us , I need a program that pull the mail from the pop server, get the name of recipient and drop it to Zimbra.

Thanks to people in this forum, I was able to get fetchmail up and running, and deliver the mail with the method:
/opt/zimbra/postfix/sbin/sendmail -t
to send mail into the box. Everything seems fine until I met an email with To: is SomeoneElse@example.com and CC as me: philip@digitalwonder.us

"sendmail -t" will send a copy to SomeoneElse@example.com, which is really not right because it was supposed to receive only, not bounce back a copy.