Installing Zimbra when domain name is not set

Ask questions about your setup or get help installing ZCS server (ZD section below).
m.issah
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 4:18 pm

Installing Zimbra when domain name is not set

Postby m.issah » Mon May 28, 2018 7:54 pm

Hi, this problem is partly an installation issue as well as a migration issue. I want to install Zimbra OSE on Ubuntu 16. Unfortunately, since I am changing hosting providers, the domain name is not yet available since its being used currently. All the guides for Zimbra installation seem to assume you have everything fresh and dandy. The domain name will be ghie.org.gh and access to mail will be mail.ghie.org.gh. Because I have not yet re-directed the nameservers, how should iI configure my /etc/host file and /etc/hostname file.

Worked years ago with SCO Unix and as you can tell; very rusty.

thanks

issah


User avatar
DualBoot
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member
Posts: 803
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 8:18 pm
Location: Earth
ZCS/ZD Version: ZCS FLOSS - 8.7.11 Mutli servers

Re: Installing Zimbra when domain name is not set

Postby DualBoot » Mon May 28, 2018 8:14 pm

Hello,

for hosts file you should be able to find a lot of sample on this forum. This topic has been discussed many times.
For the hostname add your fqdn inside and check too with hostname command.

Regards,
m.issah
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 4:18 pm

Re: Installing Zimbra when domain name is not set

Postby m.issah » Thu May 31, 2018 12:54 pm

Hello and thanks for the response

I think I haven't made myself clear. The domain is currently online. I am just preparing a new server so I can move it from the old one. When I go through the checklist, the dnslookups find the domain at its old location instead of where I am trying to install it. My real question is:

1. Should i install the new server with a different name like mydomain2.com and then change it afterwards? Is this possible or

2. Install it with mydomain.com and configure the dns so it sees mydomain.com as the local machine? If yes, how would I do this?

Thanks and regards

issah
User avatar
L. Mark Stone
Elite member
Elite member
Posts: 1889
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 11:35 am
Location: Portland, Maine
ZCS/ZD Version: 8.8.10 Network Edition
Contact:

Re: Installing Zimbra when domain name is not set

Postby L. Mark Stone » Thu May 31, 2018 6:37 pm

These may help:

https://www.missioncriticalemail.com/20 ... ion-guide/

https://www.missioncriticalemail.com/20 ... ick-start/

Essentially, you need to configure dnsmasq to "masquerade" the relevant DNS entries. dnsmasq is much better suited to this than BIND9; you only need entries for the exceptions, not a whole zone file.

Hope that helps!
Mark
___________________________________
L. Mark Stone
Mission Critical Email - Zimbra VAR/BSP/Training Partner https://www.missioncriticalemail.com/
Zeta Alliance http://www.zetalliance.org/
m.issah
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 4:18 pm

Re: Installing Zimbra when domain name is not set

Postby m.issah » Fri Jun 01, 2018 3:20 pm

Thanks L. Mark Stone,

I am already using your quick start guide.

regards

issah

Return to “Installation and Upgrade”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests