Does zimbra using postfix ?

Discuss your pilot or production implementation with other Zimbra admins or our engineers.
bryllej8
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 10:41 pm

Does zimbra using postfix ?

Postby bryllej8 » Fri Aug 09, 2019 8:07 am

1. Does zimbra using postfix from yum install postfix ?

2. Or zimbra does have built in like postfix ?

3. Hope someone can provide me how to install properly zimbra using 8.8.15 or the stable version, step by step like the source below. I will be forever grateful. and what to install on centos 7 for the requirements for zimbra to run perfectly.

Cause im just following tutorials "how to install zimbra on centos 7" and most of them disable the postfix like "systemctl disable postfix and stop" and some other they tend to "uninstall it"

source: https://www.tecmint.com/install-zimbra- ... ntos-rhel/

Newbie here, Hope you will answer my question. Thanks Experts.
Last edited by bryllej8 on Fri Aug 09, 2019 8:10 am, edited 1 time in total.


phoenix
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 26243
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:56 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Re: Does zimbra using postfix ?

Postby phoenix » Fri Aug 09, 2019 8:09 am

bryllej8 wrote:1. Does zimbra using postfix from yum install postfix ?
No, it doesn't.

bryllej8 wrote:2. Or zimbra does have built in like postfix ?
Yes, it does.

You could have found the answer to those questions in the documentation or a forum search.
Regards

Bill

Rspamd: A high performance spamassassin replacement

If you'd like to see this implemented in a future version of ZCS then please vote on Bugzilla entries 97706 & 108168
bryllej8
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 10:41 pm

Re: Does zimbra using postfix ?

Postby bryllej8 » Fri Aug 09, 2019 8:12 am

Hi sir pheonix, from 8.8.15 where can i find this /etc/postfix/main.cf ?

it doesnt exist after installing zimbra. Thanks for the reply bdw.
phoenix
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 26243
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:56 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Re: Does zimbra using postfix ?

Postby phoenix » Fri Aug 09, 2019 8:39 am

bryllej8 wrote:Hi sir pheonix, from 8.8.15 where can i find this /etc/postfix/main.cf ?
Of course it doesn't, all the ZCS files are stored in the /opt/directory - just search there for it.
Regards

Bill

Rspamd: A high performance spamassassin replacement

If you'd like to see this implemented in a future version of ZCS then please vote on Bugzilla entries 97706 & 108168
User avatar
pup_seba
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 2:43 am
Location: Tarragona - Spain
Contact:

Re: Does zimbra using postfix ?

Postby pup_seba » Fri Aug 09, 2019 9:05 am

Hi,

If I may add some ideas.
1. Uninstall postfix before installing zimbra. Disabling it may cause you problems, as some updates will re-enable it, making the zimbra postfix not able to start properly as the port will be in use already.
2. Why are you looking for the postfix directory? In case you need to do "manual modifications" to it, I would advise you to make sure that zimbra is not providing with a wrapper already to do so. When working with zimbra and specially if you are new to it, avoid editing configuration files manually as much as possible.

Regards,
bryllej8
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 10:41 pm

Re: Does zimbra using postfix ?

Postby bryllej8 » Sat Aug 10, 2019 7:57 am

Hi pub sea, thanks for the advice, do i need to disable the postfix first before uninstalling it ? Or ill just uninstall it directly ?

What can you suggest a version of zimbra that is stable and less configuration ?

Im just new with zimbra, hope you dont mind my questions.

Thanks and cheers.
phoenix
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 26243
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:56 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Re: Does zimbra using postfix ?

Postby phoenix » Sat Aug 10, 2019 8:11 am

Just uninstall it.
Regards

Bill

Rspamd: A high performance spamassassin replacement

If you'd like to see this implemented in a future version of ZCS then please vote on Bugzilla entries 97706 & 108168
bryllej8
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 10:41 pm

Re: Does zimbra using postfix ?

Postby bryllej8 » Sun Aug 11, 2019 1:15 am

What can you suggest a version of zimbra that is stable and less configuration ?

Im just new with zimbra, hope you dont mind my questions.

Thanks guys for replying. Grateful for it.
phoenix
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 26243
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:56 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Re: Does zimbra using postfix ?

Postby phoenix » Sun Aug 11, 2019 5:56 am

bryllej8 wrote:What can you suggest a version of zimbra that is stable and less configuration ?
They are all 'stable' and all require the same amount of 'configuration' to install. I'd suggest you start by reading the Installation section of the documentation to see what the requirements are for Zimbra.
Regards

Bill

Rspamd: A high performance spamassassin replacement

If you'd like to see this implemented in a future version of ZCS then please vote on Bugzilla entries 97706 & 108168
bryllej8
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 10:41 pm

Re: Does zimbra using postfix ?

Postby bryllej8 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:48 am

thanks phoenix, i notice that we have 3 mx record from our domain including what im using for zimbra, and its priority 8,9,10 and 10 is the priority of the domain that im currently working on, does it affect why i got relay accesss denied ?

Thanks for the answer.

Return to “Administrators”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests