Updated Zimbra Desktop and lost all Local folders

General discussion about Zimbra Desktop.
gene

Updated Zimbra Desktop and lost all Local folders

Post by gene »

I updated Zimbra desktop and lost all my local folders. I am using windows 10 and needs my local folders. How do I get the back or recover them. I am not that tech savvy.

HELP!! Gene
jorgedlcruz
Zimbra Alumni
Zimbra Alumni

Re: Updated Zimbra Desktop and lost all Local folders

Post by jorgedlcruz »

Hi Gene,
Please let us know more about the steps you followed, etc.

Which version you had before, etc.

Don't you backup your computer sometimes using tools like Veeam Endpoint, which is free?

Best regards
Jorge de la Cruz https://jorgedelacruz.es
Systems Engineer at Veeam Software https://www.veeam.com/
gene

Post by gene »

When I opened Zimbra Desktop it would come up to update from time to time. I had been ignoring it until yesterday I hit update now instead of ask me later. I believe i was using desktop 7.1. something. and updating to the 7.2.8. I believe. After it finished I have time setup desktop zimbra and it starting syncing from the work server but did not bring over any local files on my computer. I thought I had history file setup in windows 10 to copy a mirror of my files but I have no back ups.
PriteshGajjar
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member

Post by PriteshGajjar »

Upgrading should not have any impact on local folders. Do you see C:\Users\<USER>\AppData\Local\Zimbra\Zimbra Desktop\store folder with .msg files?
gene

Post by gene »

I found the files on my hard drive but can not open. This is the message I get when I try to open ( Cannot start Microsoft Office Outlook. Cannot open file:C;\Users\Gene\AppData\Local\Zimbra\Zimbra Desktop\store\0\2\264-6573.msg. The file may not exist, you may not have permission to open it, or it may be open in another program. Right-click the folder that contains the file, and then click Properties to check your permissions for the folder.