Hotsync and Treo 650

Take your Zimbra with you!
Rick Baker
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:02 pm

Hotsync and Treo 650

Postby Rick Baker » Tue Jun 13, 2006 6:04 pm

I have searched the forum for information on syncing a Treo 650 with Zimbra. Looking for calendar sync only. Can this be done without the Outlook connector?


14319KevinH
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 4558
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:52 pm

Hotsync and Treo 650

Postby 14319KevinH » Tue Jun 13, 2006 6:09 pm

If you have the Network Edition you can do over-the-air sync. Otherwise you need the Outlook Connector.
fmodola
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:04 pm

Hotsync and Treo 650

Postby fmodola » Thu Jun 15, 2006 4:41 am

what do you mean by "over the air sync" ??

sorry, i'm not familiar with PDA and i don't know how over the air sync works ?

what are the protocols and softs used generally to do that ???
phoenix
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 26347
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:56 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Hotsync and Treo 650

Postby phoenix » Thu Jun 15, 2006 6:33 am

It can mean either Wi-Fi or GSM.
Regards

Bill

Rspamd: A high performance spamassassin replacement

If you'd like to see this implemented in a future version of ZCS then please vote on Bugzilla entries 97706 & 108168
gmsmith
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:09 pm

Hotsync and Treo 650

Postby gmsmith » Thu Jun 15, 2006 4:36 pm

[quote user="fmodola"]what do you mean by "over the air sync" ??

sorry, i'm not familiar with PDA and i don't know how over the air sync works ?

what are the protocols and softs used generally to do that ???[/QUOTE]
Generally using your devices, that supports ActiveSync (for example, a Treo 650 running VersaMail) will allow you to sync using your wireless phone provider's (in the case of the Treo 650) data network, for example, Verizon's 1xRT network. Or with the Treo 700p, you can use the EVDO network.
Pretty much any device that supports ActiveSync (Treos running a current version of VersaMail, Windows Mobile 5 devices and some others) and has a network connection of some kind (using Wifi or EVDO, 1xRTT, GPRS, or EDGE) will work for syncing with the Network Edition.
Rick Baker
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:02 pm

Hotsync and Treo 650

Postby Rick Baker » Mon Jun 19, 2006 12:13 pm

I am using over the air sync. Ok, the sync for caledar is working, but not syncing mail. I setup Versamail to sync with an Exchange server. The treo show a message that messages are syncing but I never receive any messages.
I am doing something wrong
gmsmith
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:09 pm

Hotsync and Treo 650

Postby gmsmith » Mon Jun 19, 2006 12:16 pm

[quote user="Rick Baker"]I am using over the air sync. Ok, the sync for caledar is working, but not syncing mail. I setup Versamail to sync with an Exchange server. The treo show a message that messages are syncing but I never receive any messages.
I am doing something wrong[/QUOTE]
I don't believe you are doing anything wrong at the moment. Mail is on the roadmap for 3.2 (coming soon). Calendar works as intended...
See: http://zimbra.com/products/roadmap.html for more information
Rick Baker
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:02 pm

Hotsync and Treo 650

Postby Rick Baker » Mon Jun 19, 2006 12:20 pm

Thanks. It will be nice to have.
gmsmith
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:09 pm

Hotsync and Treo 650

Postby gmsmith » Mon Jun 19, 2006 12:21 pm

[quote user="Rick Baker"]Thanks. It will be nice to have.[/QUOTE]
In the mean time you can setup an additional IMAP account in VersaMail and have access to mail from Zimbra any time you want to. And then use the profile for the exchange account when you want your calendar synced.
sgtstadanko
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:05 pm

Hotsync and Treo 650

Postby sgtstadanko » Thu Jul 27, 2006 4:40 pm

if you want to do a OTA sync with Versamail, do you set it up as an Exchange account. Also which ports do you have to forward on the firewall if any.
I tried and am getting SSL Error: No trusted root Update certificate authority list.

Return to “Mobility”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests