Is Zimbra For Me !?

Discuss your pilot or production implementation with other Zimbra admins or our engineers.
ubumail
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:09 pm

Is Zimbra For Me !?

Postby ubumail » Thu Apr 13, 2006 10:40 am

Hi,
I'm thinking of upgrading a current mail server to use Zimbra and have a couple of questions I hope you don't mind answering !?
I own the following domains ...
http://ubumail.com

http://ubumail.co.uk

http://ubumail.org

http://ubumail.net


As">http://ubumail.eu
As
long as all these domains point to my server and I have DNS setup properly using BIND9, can Zimbra handle all the incoming mail or is it restricted to a single domain !?
If it can, can it handle mail for the same user at different domains !? ie

mic@ubumail.com would be a different person than mic@ubumail.co.uk and therefore would require seperate inbox's ... is this possible !?
Finally, from what I've seen, it is possible to connect to Zimbra from any IMAP client. Am I correct in thinking this !? The reason I ask is we currently use squirrelmail on the existing mail server, and I would prefer to stick to that for the time being until all the behind the scenes work is complete so the users have as little disruption as possible, introducing the Zimbra webmail client at a later stage !?
Also, what's the largest number of users the suite can handle !?
Hope you don't mind me asking so many question :)
Thanks
Mic Pringle


strobhen
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:02 pm

Is Zimbra For Me !?

Postby strobhen » Thu Apr 13, 2006 12:33 pm

Yes, Zimbra can handle multiple domains (it does routing via postfix, so if postfix can do it, Zimbra can do it)

Yes, Zimbra can communicate with any IMAP client

Zimbra's user count varies by machine
Search the forums, there are a few threads describing user load on a particular machine.
1230zaf
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:03 pm

Is Zimbra For Me !?

Postby 1230zaf » Thu Apr 13, 2006 3:08 pm

I have two servers as well, and the second one was not running the MTA, but I enabled it in the web interface. Now when I start the second one, I get this:
[QUOTE] Starting mta...FAILED

getService: sasl

getService: webxml

getService: perdition

DO: /opt/zimbra/postfix/sbin/postconf -e content_filter='smtp-amavis:[127.0.0.1]:10024'

DO: /opt/zimbra/postfix/sbin/postconf -e mynetworks='127.0.0.0/8 192.168.110.0/24 206.132.221.98/32 208.49.203.2/32 208.48.12.226/32 208.49.101.18/32 208.50.91.241/32'

DO: /opt/zimbra/postfix/sbin/postconf -e myhostname='(myhostname)'

DO: /opt/zimbra/postfix/sbin/postconf -e recipient_delimiter=''

DO: /opt/zimbra/postfix/sbin/postconf -e smtpd_sasl_auth_enable='yes'

DO: /opt/zimbra/postfix/sbin/postconf -e smtpd_tls_auth_only='no'

DO: /opt/zimbra/postfix/sbin/postconf -e disable_dns_lookups='no'

DO: /opt/zimbra/postfix/sbin/postconf -e message_size_limit='15360000'

DO: /opt/zimbra/postfix/sbin/postconf -e relayhost=''

DO: /opt/zimbra/postfix/sbin/postconf -e smtpd_recipient_restrictions='reject_non_fqdn_recipient, permit_sasl_authenticated, permit_mynetworks, reject_unauth_destination, permit'

saslauthd[13598] :set_auth_mech : failed to initialize mechanism zimbra

[/QUOTE]
After the zmcontrol start finishes, I am able to telnet to the mta, so it's obviously running anyway, but I get this error.
bobby
Zimbra Employee
Zimbra Employee
Posts: 515
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:01 pm

Is Zimbra For Me !?

Postby bobby » Thu Apr 13, 2006 3:18 pm

oops wrong window? ;)
so ldap is running on server1? run this on the second machine (subbing the hostname) to see if the auth host is set properly:
zmprov gs SERVER2 | grep -i mtaauth
1230zaf
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:03 pm

Is Zimbra For Me !?

Postby 1230zaf » Thu Apr 13, 2006 3:45 pm

[quote user="17224bobby"]oops wrong window? ;)
so ldap is running on server1? run this on the second machine (subbing the hostname) to see if the auth host is set properly:
zmprov gs SERVER2 | grep -i mtaauth[/QUOTE]
Yeah, looks like I did reply to the wrong thread.....
LDAP is running on server1, but not server2.
[QUOTE]zimbraMtaAuthEnabled: TRUE

[/QUOTE]
bobby
Zimbra Employee
Zimbra Employee
Posts: 515
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:01 pm

Is Zimbra For Me !?

Postby bobby » Thu Apr 13, 2006 3:48 pm

[QUOTE]>Yeah, looks like I did reply to the wrong thread.....[/QUOTE]

np. try this (obviously, replacing the server names):
zmprov ms SERVER2 zimbraMtaAuthHost SERVER1
1230zaf
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:03 pm

Is Zimbra For Me !?

Postby 1230zaf » Thu Apr 13, 2006 3:59 pm

That fixed my problem. Thanks!

Also, If I set up my MX records so that either box can receive mail, will they each route mail to the correct mailbox server correctly? And along those lines, can the users of one server relay through either server?
14319KevinH
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 4558
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:52 pm

Is Zimbra For Me !?

Postby 14319KevinH » Thu Apr 13, 2006 6:26 pm

[quote user="1230zaf"]That fixed my problem. Thanks!

Also, If I set up my MX records so that either box can receive mail, will they each route mail to the correct mailbox server correctly? And along those lines, can the users of one server relay through either server?[/QUOTE]
Yes each MTA can do LDAP lookups to find the right mailbox to deliver mail locally.

Return to “Administrators”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 20 guests