M2 -> M3 upgrade

Ask questions about your setup or get help installing ZCS server (ZD section below).
rjedge
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:01 pm

M2 -> M3 upgrade

Postby rjedge » Wed Jan 11, 2006 2:54 pm

[quote user="marcmac"]is this a virtual server? Zimbra doesn't perform well in veritual environments.[/QUOTE]


Yes. It is running in an ESX VM. It is 1 of 6 VM's (mixture of Linux and Windows) running on this ESX host. Most of our servers are now virtualized using ESX on an IBM Blade Center. We currently have 37 servers as VM's running 6 ESX hosts.


avisser
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:57 pm

M2 -> M3 upgrade

Postby avisser » Thu Jan 12, 2006 8:19 am

I HAVE SUCCESSFULLY UPGRADED THE OS M2 TO OS M3 WITH A FEW PROBLEMS, BUT IT IS UP AND RUNNING NOW.
FIRST I SAW THIS ERROR MESSAGE (INTEGER EXPRESSION EXPECTED), WHICH WAS CONCERNING, BUT DOESN'T SEEM TO HAVE BEEN A PROBLEM
[QUOTE]

INSTALLING PACKAGES
ZIMBRA-CORE..../UTIL/MODULES/PACKAGES.SH: LINE 101: [: M3: INTEGER EXPRESSION EXPECTED

./UTIL/MODULES/PACKAGES.SH: LINE 101: [: M2: INTEGER EXPRESSION EXPECTED

...ZIMBRA-CORE-3.0.0_M2_740.RHEL4-20051114171614.I386.RPM...DONE

ZIMBRA-LDAP..../UTIL/MODULES/PACKAGES.SH: LINE 101: [: M3: INTEGER EXPRESSION EXPECTED

./UTIL/MODULES/PACKAGES.SH: LINE 101: [: M2: INTEGER EXPRESSION EXPECTED

...ZIMBRA-LDAP-3.0.0_M2_740.RHEL4-20051114171614.I386.RPM...DONE

ZIMBRA-LOGGER..../UTIL/MODULES/PACKAGES.SH: LINE 101: [: M3: INTEGER EXPRESSION EXPECTED

...ZIMBRA-LOGGER-3.0.0_M2_740.RHEL4-20051114171614.I386.RPM...DONE

ZIMBRA-MTA..../UTIL/MODULES/PACKAGES.SH: LINE 101: [: M3: INTEGER EXPRESSION EXPECTED

./UTIL/MODULES/PACKAGES.SH: LINE 101: [: M2: INTEGER EXPRESSION EXPECTED

...ZIMBRA-MTA-3.0.0_M2_740.RHEL4-20051114171614.I386.RPM...DONE

ZIMBRA-SNMP..../UTIL/MODULES/PACKAGES.SH: LINE 101: [: M3: INTEGER EXPRESSION EXPECTED

./UTIL/MODULES/PACKAGES.SH: LINE 101: [: M2: INTEGER EXPRESSION EXPECTED

...ZIMBRA-SNMP-3.0.0_M2_740.RHEL4-20051114171614.I386.RPM...DONE

ZIMBRA-STORE..../UTIL/MODULES/PACKAGES.SH: LINE 101: [: M3: INTEGER EXPRESSION EXPECTED

./UTIL/MODULES/PACKAGES.SH: LINE 101: [: M2: INTEGER EXPRESSION EXPECTED

...ZIMBRA-STORE-3.0.0_M2_740.RHEL4-20051114171614.I386.RPM...DONE

ZIMBRA-APACHE..../UTIL/MODULES/PACKAGES.SH: LINE 101: [: M3: INTEGER EXPRESSION EXPECTED

...ZIMBRA-APACHE-3.0.0_M2_740.RHEL4-20051114171614.I386.RPM...DONE

ZIMBRA-SPELL..../UTIL/MODULES/PACKAGES.SH: LINE 101: [: M3: INTEGER EXPRESSION EXPECTED

...ZIMBRA-SPELL-3.0.0_M2_740.RHEL4-20051114171614.I386.RPM...DONE

[/QUOTE]


I DIDN'T WANT TO MAKE ANY CHANGES TO THE EXISTING CONFIG SO I TYPED 'A' AND PRESSED ENTER. THIS HOWEVER DID NOT KEEP MY EXISTING CONFIG COMPLETELY IN TACT.



  • TLS AUTHENTICATION ONLY WAS CHECKED, BUT SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN

  • ANTIVIRUS WAS TURNED OFF

  • SPAM WAS TURNED OFF AND THE KILL/TAG PERCENTAGES RESET TO THE DEFAULT (IT DID REMEMBER THE SUBJECT PREFIX.)

  • POP & IMAP CLEAR TEXT LOGINS WERE DISABLED, BUT SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN

  • HAD TO MODIFY SASLAUTHD.CONF.IN JUST AS I HAD TO IN THE HTTP://WWW.ZIMBRA.COM/FORUMS/SHOWPOST.PHP?P=4351&POSTCOUNT=30] M1 -> M2 UPGRADE


ZMTRAINSA SEEMS TO BE HAVING ISSUES, BUT I NEED TO LOOK DEEPER INTO THAT TO VERIFY IF IT IS OR ISN'T WORKING.
rhostager
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:59 pm

M2 -> M3 upgrade

Postby rhostager » Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:15 am

[quote user="marcmac"]Is the logger service running?[/QUOTE]


Yes, ps -A shows:
14670 ? 00:00:00 mysqld

14671 ? 00:00:03 zmlogger

14682 ? 00:00:00 mysqld
- Rob
marcmac
Elite member
Elite member
Posts: 2091
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:53 pm

M2 -> M3 upgrade

Postby marcmac » Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:21 am

What do you get from:

zmcontrol status

logmysqladmin status
rhostager
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:59 pm

M2 -> M3 upgrade

Postby rhostager » Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:28 am

[quote user="marcmac"]What do you get from:

zmcontrol status

logmysqladmin status[/QUOTE]
[zimbra@mail ~]$ zmcontrol status

Host mail.hostager.com

antispam Running

antivirus Running

ldap Running

logger Running

mailbox Running

mta Running

snmp Running

spell Running

[zimbra@mail ~]$ logmysqladmin status

Uptime: 85468 Threads: 2 Questions: 138055 Slow queries: 77180 Opens: 21 Flush tables: 1 Open tables: 10 Queries per second avg: 1.615
- Rob
marcmac
Elite member
Elite member
Posts: 2091
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:53 pm

M2 -> M3 upgrade

Postby marcmac » Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:34 am

What do you get from

zmprov gacf | grep -i loghost
Should match the hostname of the server running the logger service.
If the hostname resolves to a public IP on a FW box, can the webmail server access that box at port 7307? (Verify that zmlocalconfig logger_mysql_port matches the port in /opt/zimbra/conf/my.logger.cnf)
rhostager
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:59 pm

M2 -> M3 upgrade

Postby rhostager » Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:46 am

[quote user="marcmac"]What do you get from

zmprov gacf | grep -i loghost
Should match the hostname of the server running the logger service.
If the hostname resolves to a public IP on a FW box, can the webmail server access that box at port 7307? (Verify that zmlocalconfig logger_mysql_port matches the port in /opt/zimbra/conf/my.logger.cnf)[/QUOTE]
[zimbra@mail ~]$ zmprov gacf | grep -i loghost

zimbraLogHostname: mail.hostager.com
zmlocalconfig shows:
logger_mysql_port = 3307


my.logger.cnf contains:
[mysqld]
basedir = /opt/zimbra/logger/mysql

datadir = /opt/zimbra/logger/db/data

socket = /opt/zimbra/logger/db/mysql.sock

pid-file = /opt/zimbra/logger/db/mysql.pid

bind-address = localhost

port = 7307
skip-external-locking
log-slow-queries = /opt/zimbra/log/logger_myslow.log

long-query-time = 1

log-long-format

log-queries-not-using-indexes

log-bin
thread_cache = 10

max_connections = 10
# We do a lot of writes, query cache turns out to be not useful.

query_cache_type = 0
[mysqld_safe]
err-log = /opt/zimbra/log/logger_mysqld.log


Looks like they do not match. I did the following:
zmlocalconfig -e logger_mysql_port=7307
to fix this and restarted the server. It works now!
Thanks... You guys are great!
- Rob
FYI -- This was an M1 installation upgraded to M2 with the script and then later upgraded to M3. The Server status showed nothing from M1 on. The errors did not display until M3. With your fix the server staus now works properly with no errors.

Return to “Installation and Upgrade”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests