Migrating mailboxes more than once.

Looking to migrate to ZCS? Ask here. Got a great tip or script that helped you migrate? Post it here.
twokeys
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 2:57 am

Migrating mailboxes more than once.

Postby twokeys » Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:03 pm

So we are migrating from 7.1.x to latest 8.0.3 and all is working great.
So this is why I am wanting to migrate more than once:
At this point, most of our employee mailboxes are filled with tons of stuff, each account migration is taking anywhere from 1minute - 30+ minutes. The president of the company I don't even want to think about how long that one will take.
If I start a migrate on the Presidents mailbox and it takes 2 hours to complete, what happens to the emails that were recieved within that 2 hour window? Are they lost? Does the migration wizard know to keep looking for new messages that arrive AFTER the migrate command has started and migrate them too?
I just want to make sure that when we enable 8.0.3 and kill our 7.1.x instance, that every-SINGLE piece of email is migrated. I don't want gaps, I don't want someone to lose all emails in the past X amount of time because the migrate couldn't catch them. Running a migrate again to get the deltas provides the error bulkprovision.EMPTY_IMPORT_QUEUE .
So I hope someone can clear up my confusion!
Goal: Migrate without losing a single email in the process, possible?


Krishopper
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member
Posts: 769
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:23 pm

Migrating mailboxes more than once.

Postby Krishopper » Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:57 pm

If I recall, the migration process was updated in 8.0.x so that it would do the bulk of the migration while still allowing the account to remain active. Then it would do a catch-up sync at the end of the process after it puts the mailbox in maintenance mode, which would interrupt the mailbox for a shorter period of time. You may want to create a test mailbox with a lot of data to test this to confirm in your environment, but I don't believe it will cause his account to be unavailable for the entire migration.
Either way, no mail is ever lost.

Return to “Migration”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest