Page 1 of 1

inodes full, disk still has space

Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 4:53 pm
by silverstr8p
My Zimbra box failed but still had space, but I found after running:

Code: Select all

#>: df -i
Filesystem            Inodes   IUsed  IFree IUse% Mounted on
/dev/mapper/vg_mail-lv_root
                     6266880 6266880    0 100% /
tmpfs                 369466       1 369465    1% /dev/shm
/dev/vda1             128016      67 127949    1% /boot

so I deleted a bunch of temp files, so now it shows:

Code: Select all

#>: df -i
Filesystem            Inodes   IUsed  IFree IUse% Mounted on
/dev/mapper/vg_mail-lv_root
                     6266880 6265961    919  100% /
tmpfs                 369466       1 369465    1% /dev/shm
/dev/vda1             128016      67 127949    1% /boot

but I'm wondering where are some good places to delete stuff, like maybe in the quarantine or other temp files? Can I delete them from the command line, or will that mess things up?

In case anyone else is wondering, inodes are a generic term that Linux uses for either files or folders, and it has a maximum amount of "things" (inodes/combination of files and folders) you can have on a file system, so even if you have space, you have to delete some extra "things" like the kind of unused tiny files that get stored here and there.

Re: inodes full, disk still has space

Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:14 pm
by tonster
silverstr8p wrote:My Zimbra box failed but still had space, but I found after running:

Code: Select all

#>: df -i
Filesystem            Inodes   IUsed  IFree IUse% Mounted on
/dev/mapper/vg_mail-lv_root
                     6266880 6266880    0 100% /
tmpfs                 369466       1 369465    1% /dev/shm
/dev/vda1             128016      67 127949    1% /boot

so I deleted a bunch of temp files, so now it shows:

Code: Select all

#>: df -i
Filesystem            Inodes   IUsed  IFree IUse% Mounted on
/dev/mapper/vg_mail-lv_root
                     6266880 6265961    919  100% /
tmpfs                 369466       1 369465    1% /dev/shm
/dev/vda1             128016      67 127949    1% /boot

but I'm wondering where are some good places to delete stuff, like maybe in the quarantine or other temp files? Can I delete them from the command line, or will that mess things up?

In case anyone else is wondering, inodes are a generic term that Linux uses for either files or folders, and it has a maximum amount of "things" (inodes/combination of files and folders) you can have on a file system, so even if you have space, you have to delete some extra "things" like the kind of unused tiny files that get stored here and there.


If you're running out of inodes, then you've sized your system improperly and you're going to need to either add more diskspace or migrate to a new system/vm. Every message you receive is going to take up an inode, so no amount of deleting temp files or quarantined items is going to save you more than very short-term.

Re: inodes full, disk still has space

Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:13 am
by silverstr8p
Yeah, I know, but it will take time for me to provision another box, so hoping to free up some inodes in the meantime.

Re: inodes full, disk still has space

Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 5:27 am
by phoenix
silverstr8p wrote:Yeah, I know, but it will take time for me to provision another box, so hoping to free up some inodes in the meantime.
The other part of the answer that tonster gave was to add more HD space, why can't you do that?

Re: inodes full, disk still has space

Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 3:21 pm
by silverstr8p
In this case it's difficult, I need to fire up a new box, but I'm awaiting parts to complete the build, so I need some time.

Re: inodes full, disk still has space

Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2016 11:25 am
by andreaswolske
It appears that you're using LVM? Most inodes go to /opt/zimbra/store.
You can add a new disk and format it manually, doubling the default number of inodes since /store hosts all the small files.
Mount the new disk under /opt/zimbra/store. No of inodes cannot be changed after formatting so you would have to reinstall.
BR