FreeBSD Port

Have a great idea for extending Zimbra? Share ideas, ask questions, contribute, and get feedback.
kyguy80

FreeBSD Port

Post by kyguy80 »

I'm interested in porting Zimbra to FreeBSD. Which portions of the Zimbra Collaboration Suite require a C compiler? I'm assuming I should use a compiler that is recommended for FreeBSD.
I'm new to porting applications to FreeBSD, so this is definately going to be a learning experience.
Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
rmvg
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member

FreeBSD Port

Post by rmvg »

I also use FreeBSD have been since version 4.2 and would love to see zimbra ported Freestyle haha. Anyways never done any porting before or much coding mostly a config tweeker. However always willing to learn let me know if i can help in any way.
marcmac
Elite member
Elite member

FreeBSD Port

Post by marcmac »

First step here is to download the code and poke around a bit - that's the best way to get an idea of what's needed for a port.
The only portions of the app that require a C compiler are the thirdparty components - postfix, cyrus, some perl libs, ldap, and clamav. Everything else is java, or Perl.
goo0h

FreeBSD Port

Post by goo0h »

[quote user="marcmac"]The only portions of the app that require a C compiler are the thirdparty components - postfix, cyrus, some perl libs, ldap, and clamav. Everything else is java, or Perl.[/QUOTE]
Cyrus? What of Cyrus do y'all use?
17629anand
Zimbra Alumni
Zimbra Alumni

FreeBSD Port

Post by 17629anand »

cyrus-sasl - we have added zimbra/SOAP auth to saslauthd.
jdalberg

FreeBSD Port

Post by jdalberg »

I have had a little poke around.
It seems a bit uphill to port, since we dont want stuff in /opt on freebsd, and the /opt/zimbra part seems pretty infiltrated in the makefile.
We want the port to take care of all the 3rd party dependencies, all of which are allready ported to freebsd so that the port will only build core zimbra stuff.