Page 1 of 1

Move ZD Settings To "New Computer?"

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 12:10 pm
by Ryan1
It's not actually a new computer, it's a new hard drive in the same computer.
When I reinstall Zimbra on the new drive, is there something on the old drive I can copy to the new one to transfer all my ZD settings, accounts and data to the new drive?
Thanks for any help.

Move ZD Settings To "New Computer?"

Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 11:20 am
by Ryan1
Hello? Anyone there? :o

Move ZD Settings To "New Computer?"

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 2:08 pm
by Ryan1
Is it lonely in here or is it just me.
Hundreds of views but not a single comment. Is there no one who knows the answer to this question? Or should I assume the lack of an answer means there is no way to do it?
:confused:

Move ZD Settings To "New Computer?"

Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 2:00 am
by phoenix
Why don't you just copy the original folder structure to the new HD (make sure you keep a copy) and then install ZD to that location? I seem to remember doing that a long time ago, it my or may not work.

Move ZD Settings To "New Computer?"

Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 12:23 pm
by Ryan1
Thanks for responding phoenix... I appreciate it.
I can certainly try that.
But what I was hoping for was a definitive way to do it before experimenting so that I don't screw anything up on my nice fresh drive and Windows installation.
Doesn't look like that is coming, so your suggestion may be the only option.

Move ZD Settings To "New Computer?"

Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 12:50 pm
by phoenix
Ryan1 wrote:But what I was hoping for was a definitive way to do it before experimenting so that I don't screw anything up on my nice fresh drive and Windows installation.
The worst thing that would happen is that you: a) might not get it to 'find' your current data or b) you might have to uninstall it but it certainly won't do anything bad to your PC.

Re: Move ZD Settings To "New Computer?"

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 9:36 pm
by ponty
I know this thread is really old, but this "issue" doesn't seem to be addressed anywhere else.

I had been scouring the net to find a way to do migrate all of my accounts--not just from one computer to another, but also from one platform to another (i.e. Windows to Mac and Linux). I couldn't find this information anywhere. However, there is good news--I figured it out myself. It's possible to migrate the configurations even between platforms.

Navigate to the Zimbra Desktop settings user data directory. (i.e. ~/zdesktop on Linux). Copy ONLY the "index" and "sqlite" folders to the ZD settings user data directory in the new location. This may require that you run Zimbra Desktop once on that computer/platform first to initialise the directory.

The next time you run Zimbra Desktop, you should see all of your accounts! Good luck!

Ponty