Open source 5.0 and calandar Sync via usb cable

Questions, comments, and problems with Zimbra on Apple desktops & general CalDAV / CardDAV questions.
djankor

Post by djankor »

Hello,

I admit up front I am very new to this. I have read multiple threads and have ended up with no clear answers. My wish it to use the opensource version 5.xand smart phones (Palm PDA, Palm Treo, Motorola Q) synch their calandars bi-directionally using a usb synch cable or docking station.
My questions are:
1. Can this be done with the Open source version.

2. What program would you recommend to do this with?
Thanks
jholder
Ambassador
Ambassador

Post by jholder »

Well, the supported way would be to purchase the Network Edition, and sync ZCS to Outlook, then outlook to your PDA.
Basically, the key is Outlook. If you can get your data into outlook, then outlook should be able to get it to your PDA.
tgx
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member
ZCS/ZD Version: 8.8.15 CentOS 7.6.180

Post by tgx »

Or the key is NOT Outlook.

What does a company do that does not have Outlook deployed?

Just curious since the assumption is everyone has Outlook.
jholder
Ambassador
Ambassador

Post by jholder »

[quote user="tgx"]Or the key is NOT Outlook.

What does a company do that does not have Outlook deployed?

Just curious since the assumption is everyone has Outlook.[/QUOTE]
Most PDA vendors support outlook. That's how they sync, only to outlook. That's why it's the key. If you can get Zimbra to sync to outlook, then problem solved.
I personally don't care if the goal is to have outlook or not. The question is, how do you sync your data to a USB device, and most always Outlook is the key.
tgx
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member

Post by tgx »

[quote user="jholder"]Most PDA vendors support outlook. That's how they sync, only to outlook. That's why it's the key. If you can get Zimbra to sync to outlook, then problem solved.